How do I become a patient?
Becoming a registered patient in Vermont is a multistep process that can take up to 30 days. Below is a breakdown of the steps:
Learn about the program.
If you are interested in becoming a registered medical cannabis patient in Vermont, please visit the Vermont Marijuana Registry Website. The Department of Public Safety administers the Vermont Marijuana Registry and is the go-to source for any questions. On their website you will find registration instructions and all required forms.
Consult with your primary care physician.
Medical cannabis may offer significant relief to people suffering from chronic pain and debilitating conditions. It is important to talk with your primary care physician and discuss your condition before adding medical cannabis to your health and wellness routine. It is also a requirement of the State of Vermont. If you and your physician decide that medical cannabis might be beneficial to you, have your primary care physician complete the Health Care Verification Form.
Register as a new patient with the State of Vermont.
One you decide to move forward with registration, you can complete the Patient Application Form. This form has seven sections:
1. Patient Information
2. Dispensary Designation: Under Vermont law, you may only select one dispensary. If you would like to to be able to purchase medical cannabis products from PhytoCare Vermont, please designate us as your preferred dispensary.
3. Dispensary Communication & Delivery: Choose whether or not to share your contact information with your selected dispensary.
4. Cultivation: If you plan to cultivate marijuana plants, be sure to fill out this section completely.
5. Patient Acknowledgments
6. Patient Photo Requirements
7 Patient Signature
If you would like to designate a caregiver -- someone who is at least 21 years of age, who has met eligibility requirements determined by the VMR, and who has agreed to undertake responsibility for managing the well-being of you, the registered patient, with respect to the use of marijuana for symptom relief -- be sure to fill out the optional section "Registered Caregiver Designation".
If you have been diagnosed with PTSD, you must also submit a completed "Mental Health Care Provider Form".
Once all sections are completed, mail your application and non-refundable $50 application fee (check or money order) to:
Department of Public Safety
45 State Drive
Waterbury, VT 05671-1300
Finally, don't forget to email a digital photo to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Once approved, set up an appointment to visit PhytoCare Vermont.
Please contact us to set up an appointment. Our highly trained dispensers will guide you through your first visit, answer any questions you may have, and help you select the products that are most appropriate for your needs.
Please be sure to bring your Vermont Medical Registry identification card and your government-issued ID.